East Feliciana Parish Police Jury Clinton, LA Regular Meeting May 20, 2024 6:00 P.M.

The regular meeting of the East Feliciana Parish Police Jury was called to order on May 20, 2024, at 6:00 P.M. by Police Jury President Louis Kent. Opening prayer was offered by President Kent and the Pledge of Allegiance was then led by Mr. Kyle Fleniken.

The roll was called by Parish Secretary-Treasurer Yamesha Harris and the following jurors were present: Mr. Dexter Armstead, Mrs. Kristin Chasteen, Mr. Michael Cheatham, Mr. Kyle Fleniken, Mr. Louis Kent, Mr. Jason McCray, Mr. Keith Mills, Mr. Richard Oliveaux, and Dr. Chrissie O'Quin.

A motion was made by Mr. Jason McCray, seconded by Vice President Chrissie O'Quin to approve the agenda. Motion passed

A motion was made by Mr. Jason McCray, seconded by Mr. Dexter Armstead to adopt minutes from the May 6, 2024 Regular Meeting. Motion passed

President Kent moved the Cramer v. East Feliciana Parish Police Jury (possible executive session) item to the end of the agenda

No action on Marston House Contract item. The item will be placed on the June 3rd Agenda

A motion was made by seconded by Mr. Kyle Fleniken, seconded by Mrs. Kristin Chasteen to schedule a public hearing for 5p.m. on June 17, 2024 to receive public input on proposed amendment to Nuisance Ordinance to section 10-72

A motion was made by Mrs. Kristin Chasteen, seconded by Mr. Jason McCray to approve appraisal & accept bids at salvage value for Old County Agent/Old School on Bank Street

A motion was made by Mr. Jason McCray, seconded by Mrs. Kristin Chasteen to accept proposal from Dart Agency to renew insurance at the Parish Prison with \$10,000.00 wind deductible buy back policy. Motion passed

A motion was made by Mr. Keith Mills, seconded by Mr. Dexter Armstead to appoint Joshua O'Quin to the Planning & Zoning Commission to begin a new term. Vice President O'Quin abstained. Motion passed

A motion was made by Mr. Keith Mills, seconded by Mr. Richard Oliveaux to adopt the Watchman as the East Feliciana Parish Official Journal. Motion passed

A motion was made by Mr. Jason McCray, seconded by Mr. Richard Oliveaux to approve engagement letter with PEC for Road Project. Motion passed

A motion was made by Mr. Jason McCray, seconded by Mr. Richard Oliveaux to approve bridge maintenance supplies not to exceed 100,000.00 from Road & Bridge. Motion passed

A Personnel Meeting was scheduled for May 22, 2024 at 5:30pm

East Feliciana Parish Police Jury Clinton, LA Regular Meeting May 20, 2024 6:00 P.M.

A motion was made by Mr. Kyle Fleniken, seconded by Mr. Keith Mills to approve monthly invoices. Motion passed

Administrative Comments were as follows:

- The Planning & Zoning Commission will be notified to start discussion on are lots
- A motion was made by Mr. Keith Mills, seconded by Vice President Chrissie O'Quin to hire Lorna Sinclair as Senior Permit Technician. Motion passed
- A motion was made by Mr. Keith Mills, seconded by Mr. Jason McCray to award contract to Pec for engineering services for Disaster Recover CDBG funds and subsequent implementation of LWI. Motion passed
- A motion was made by Mr. Richard Oliveaux, seconded by Vice President Chrissie O'Quin to approve use of ACT 397 appropriation for soft wash at courthouse, \$5,586.38. Motion passed
- A motion was made by Mr. Jason McCray, seconded by Mr. Keith Mills to approve use of ACT 397 appropriation to repair lighting at courthouse, \$58,471.00. Motion passed

Treasurer's Report

• A motion was made by Mr. Jason McCray, seconded by Mr. Keith Mills to adopt resolution closing Building Fund Account at Landmark Bank. Motion passed

Director Darryl Buhler gave Homeland Security Updates

Public Comments

• Faye Talbot thanked the Police Jury for storm debris pickup

A motion was made by Mr. Keith Mills, seconded by Jason McCray to enter into Executive Session to discuss the Cramer V. East Feliciana Parish Police Jury, not to exceed fifteen minutes. Motion passed

A motion was made by Vice President Chrissie O'Quin to enter into regular session, seconded by Mr. Jason McCray. Motion passed.

No action taken

A motion was made by Vice President Chrissie O'Quin to adjourn

Yamesha Harris, Parish Secretary

Louis Kent, Police Jury President