East Feliciana Parish Police Jury Clinton, LA Regular Meeting July 15, 2024 6:00 P.M.

The regular meeting of the East Feliciana Parish Police Jury was called to order on July 15, 2024, at 6:00 P.M. by Police Jury President Louis Kent. Opening prayer was offered by President Kent and the Pledge of Allegiance was then led by Mrs. Kristin Chasteen.

The roll was called by Parish Secretary Yamesha Harris and the following jurors were present: Mr. Dexter Armstead, Mrs. Kristin Chasteen, Mr. Michael Cheatham, Mr. Kyle Fleniken, Mr. Louis Kent, Mr. Jason McCray, Mr. Keith Mills, Mr. Richard Oliveaux, and Dr. Chrissie O'Quin.

A motion was made by Mr. Keith Mills seconded by Mr. Jason McCray to approve the agenda with additions to take action on hardship variance at 8017 Peterson Road and approval of \$13,280.84 payment to Brockworks for repairs to the courthouse ceiling. Motion passed.

A motion was made by Vice President Chrissie O'Quin, seconded by Mr. Keith Mills to adopt minutes from the July 1, 2024 Regular Meeting. Motion passed

A motion was made by Mr. Keith Mills, seconded by Mr. Dexter Armstead to take catering services request for essential employees during local, state and federal disasters under advisement. Motion passed

A motion was made by Mr. Keith Mills, seconded by Vice President Chrissie O'Quin to table CEA with Town of Clinton to overlay Marston Street. Motion passed

A motion was made by Mr. Richard Oliveaux, seconded by Mr. Keith Mills to appoint Chief Deputy William Cox to the 911 Commission as Sheriff's Office appointee. Mrs. Kristin Chasteen abstained. Motion passed

A motion was made by Mr. Richard Oliveaux, seconded by Mr. Dexter Armstead to accept proposal from Faulk & Winkler for Financial Advisor/Services. Motion passed

A motion was made by Mr. Keith Mills, seconded by Mrs. Kristin Chasteen to approve proposed Floodplain Ordinance and appoint CBO Jeff Williams as Interim Floodplain Manager. Motion passed

A motion was made by Mr. Keith Mills, seconded by Mr. Dexter Armstead to table six month moratorium for subdivisions. Mr. Richard Oliveaux opposed. Motion passed

A motion was made by Mr. Jason McCray, seconded by Vice President Chrissie O'Quin to approve \$2,500.00 request from Greater Baton Rouge Food Bank. Motion passed

A motion was made by Mr. Jason McCray, seconded by Mr. Keith Mills to approve one-year hardship variance to live in mobile home on property at 8017 Peterson Road. Motion passed

A motion was made by Mr. Keith Mills, seconded by Mrs. Kristin Chasteen to approve \$13,280.84 payment to Brockworks for repairs to courthouse ceiling. Motion passed

East Feliciana Parish Police Jury Clinton, LA Regular Meeting July 15, 2024 6:00 P.M.

No report from Executive Committee

A motion was made by Mr. Jason McCray, seconded by Mr. Dexter Armstead to table action on proposed Parish Manager Job Description. Motion passed.

A motion was made by Mr. Kyle Fleniken, seconded by Mr. Keith Mills to approve monthly invoices. Motion passed

Mr. Jason McCray announced that the Overlay Project will begin soon

No report from Buildings & Properties Committee

Administrative Comments were as follows:

• Parish Secretary informed the Jury that she would reach out to Faulk & Winkler on Tuesday to inform them of their proposal acceptance and schedule a meeting.

OHSEP Director gave an update on vegetative waste site cleanup, storm damage and April & May Severe Storms cleanup

Public Comments

- Bill Sharp addressed the Jury with concerns of tree & tree limb removal on Greenbriar & Blatt Lane
- DPW Admin Assistant Kelsey Scales informed the Jury of the cost to repair a tractor at DPW. Mr. Fleniken asked that DPW seek additional quotes for repairs.

A motion was made by Mr. Dexter Armstead, seconded by Vice President Chrissie O'Quin to enter into Executive Session to discuss Harmony v. East Feliciana Parish, #3:23-cv-00424 for not more than thirty minutes. Motion passed

A motion was made by Mr. Keith Mills, seconded by Mr. Jason McCray enter into regular session. Motion passed

A motion was made by Mr. Keith Mills, seconded by Vice President Chrissie O'Quin to adjourn

Yamesha Harris, Parish Secretary

Louis Kent, Police Jury President