East Feliciana Parish Police Jury Clinton, LA Regular Meeting January 6, 2025 6:00 P.M.

The regular meeting of the East Feliciana Parish Police Jury was called to order on January 6, 2025, at 6:00 P.M. by Police Jury President Louis Kent. Opening prayer was offered by President Kent and the Pledge of Allegiance was then led by Juror Kristin Chasteen.

The roll was called by Miss Kelsey Scales and the following jurors were present: Juror Dexter Armstead, Juror Kristin Chasteen, Juror Michael Cheatham, Juror Kyle Fleniken, President Louis Kent, Juror Jason McCray, Juror Keith Mills, Juror Richard Oliveaux, and Vice President Chrissie O'Quin.

A motion was made by Juror Keith Mills, seconded by Juror Dexter Armstead to approve the agenda and move the visitors up. This motion passed unanimously.

A motion was made by Juror Jason McCray, seconded by Juror Michael Cheatham to adopt minutes from December 16, 2024 Public Hearing. Motion passed

A motion was made by Juror Dexter Armstead, seconded by Vice President Chrissie O'Quin to adopt minutes from the December 16, 2024, Regular Meeting. Motion passed

A motion was made by Juror Richard Oliveaux, seconded by Juror Dexter Armstead to nominate Mr. Louis Kent as Police Jury President for the year 2025. Motion passed

A motion was made by Juror Keith Mills, seconded by Juror Jason McCray to nominate Dr. Chrissie O'Quin as Police Jury Vice President for the year 2025. Motion passed

A motion was made by Juror Richard Oliveaux, to approve a \$100.00 assessed value for ACT 179. Motion died due to a lack of a second.

A motion was made by Juror Richard Oliveaux, seconded by Juror Dexter Armstead to approve a \$250.00 assessed value tax exemption for first responders according to ACT 179, effective January 1, 2025. Motion passed Vice President Chrissie O'Quin and Juror Kristin Chasteen abstained.

No action taken on buyout of homes or elevation of homes with LWI for 2016 Flood

A motion was made by Juror Richard Oliveaux, seconded by Juror Keith Mills to repair controls at the Parish Prison, once additional quotes are received. Motion passed. One quote was received for \$86,716.00

A motion was made by Juror Dexter Armstead, seconded by Vice President Chrissie O'Quin to approve request from Feliciana Family & Friends Mardi Gras Committee to use Police Jury Property at 11974 Jackson Street and 11046 Bank Street to park horse trailers. Motion passed

A motion was made by Juror Richard Oliveaux, seconded by Juror Keith Mills to appoint Jermi Adams to the Audubon Regional Library Board of Commissioners. Motion passed

East Feliciana Parish Police Jury Clinton, LA Regular Meeting January 6, 2025 6:00 P.M.

A motion was made by Juror Jason McCray, seconded by Juror Dexter Armstead to appoint Mr. Larry Granier to the Waterworks District 7 Board of Commissioners. Motion passed.

A motion was made by Juror Kyle Fleniken, seconded by Juror Dexter Armstead to approve monthly invoices. Motion passed

A motion was made by Juror Dexter Armstead, seconded by Juror Keith Mills to adjourn

Yamesha Harris, Parish Secretary

Louis Kent, Police Jury President