East Feliciana Parish Police Jury Clinton, LA Regular Meeting January 10, 2024 6:00 P.M.

The regular meeting of the East Feliciana Parish Police Jury was called to order on January 10, 2024, at 6:00 P.M. by Police Jury President Louis Kent. Opening prayer was offered by President Kent and the Pledge of Allegiance was then led by Mr. Dexter Armstead

The roll was called by Miss Kelsey Scales and the following jurors were present: Mr. Dexter Armstead, Mrs. Kristin Chasteen, Mr. Michael Cheatham, Mr. Kyle Fleniken, Mr. Louis Kent, Mr. Jason McCray, Mr. Keith Mills, Mr. Richard Oliveaux, and Dr. Chrissie O'Quin.

A motion was made by Mr. Jason McCray, seconded by Dr. Chrissie O'Quin to approve the agenda.

A motion was made by Mr. Keith Mills, seconded by Mr. Richard Oliveaux to adopt minutes from the December 18, 2023 Regular Meeting. Motion passed

A motion was made by Mr. Richard Oliveaux to nominate Mr. Kyle Fleniken as Police Jury President. Motion failed for a lack of second.

A motion was made by Mr. Jason McCray, seconded by Mr. Dexter Armstead to nominate Mr. Louis Kent as Police Jury President. Mr. Richard Oliveaux opposed. Motion passed

A motion was made by Mr. Richard Oliveaux to nominate Mr. Kyle Fleniken as Police Jury Vice-President. Motion failed for a lack of second.

A motion was made by Mr. Keith Mills, seconded by Mrs. Kristin Chasteen to nominate Dr. Chrissie O'Quin as Police Jury Vice-President. Motion passed

A motion was made by to approve request from Sheilla Flowers to allow horse trailers to park at Old Maintenance Yard on Bank Street during Clinton Mardi Gras parade on January 27, 2024. Motion passed

Mrs. Faye Talbot announced her appointment as Legislative Assistant to Representative Roy Adams

A motion was made by Mr. Keith Mills, seconded by Mr. Kyle Fleniken to allow a 6 month variance extension to Susan & Dennis Countryman to live in an RV at 4943 Highway 63 for duration of house build. Motion passed

A motion was made Dr. Chrissie O'Quinn, seconded by Mr. Keith Mills, to accept CBO Jeff William's recommendation to take necessary to file injunction on Jarrell's property. This motion passed with a roll call vote. Voting in favor of the motion was Mrs. Kristin Chasteen, Mr. Kyle Fleniken, Mr. Keith Mills, Dr. Chrissie O'Quin and Mr. Richard Oliveaux. Mr. Dexter Armstead, Mr. Michael Cheatham, Mr. Jason McCray were opposed to filing the injunction. Certified Building Official Jeff Williams informed the Jury his decision to recommend to the Jury an injunction is based off 3B-67. Administration and 3B-68 Violation, penalty, general

East Feliciana Parish Police Jury Clinton, LA Regular Meeting January 10, 2024 6:00 P.M.

provisions. Mr. Williams also explained that he is requesting an injunction because there is no equestrian law that will allow them to conduct commercial activity on agriculture property

A motion was made by Mr. Jason McCray, seconded by Mr. Keith Mills, to approve MOU with LITACorp. Motion passed

A motion was made by Mr. Keith Mills, seconded by Mr. Richard Oliveaux to approve 2024 Liquor License for Backroads. Motion passed

President Louis Kent informed the Jury that Police Jury Committees and Committee Members appointment would be at the next Police Jury Meeting

## **Public Comments:**

Mr. Anthony addressed the Jury wi	th concerns of conditions on Brown Road.
A motion was made by Mr. Jason McCray to adjourn.	
Yamesha Harris, Parish Secretary	Louis Kent, Police Jury President