East Feliciana Parish Police Jury Clinton, LA Regular Meeting January 17, 2023 6:00 P.M.

The regular meeting of the East Feliciana Parish Police Jury was called to order on January 17, 2023 at 6:00 P.M. by Police Jury President Louis Kent. Opening prayer was offered by Mr. Louis Kent and the Pledge of Allegiance was then led by Mr. Chris Hall.

The roll was called by Parish Secretary Yamesha Harris and the following jurors were present: Mr. Michael Cheatham, Mr. Kyle Fleniken, Mr. Chris Hall, Mr. Ronald Johnson, Mr. Louis Kent, Mr. Jason McCray, Mr. Keith Mills, Mr. Richard Oliveaux, and Dr. Chrissie O'Quin.

A motion was made by Mr. Chris Hall, seconded by Mr. Jason McCray to approve the agenda and with additions. This motion passed unanimously. Additions as follows:

- 1. Take action on Property, Equipment & Auto Insurance Renewal Proposal with Dart Insurance (Will Andrews)
- 2. Take action on 2023 Sales Tax Agreement
- 3. Discuss Parish Manager Resignation
- 4. Take action on request for Special Event Liquor License at 8596 Hwy 963 (Sheilla Flowers)
- 5. Take action on task order from HGA for ARPA Grant Management

A motion was made by Mr. Jason McCray, seconded by Vice President Chrissie O'Quin to adopt the minutes from the January 3, 2023 Regular Meeting.

A motion was made by Mr. Chris Hall, seconded by Vice President Chrissie O'Quin to renew Property (with wind buy back), Equipment & Auto Insurance though Dart Insurance. Motion passed.

A motion was made by Mr. Chris Hall, seconded by Vice President Chrissie O'Quin to approve 2023 Sales Tax Agreement. Motion passed.

President Louis Kent informed the Jury that Parish Secretary/Assistant Parish Manager Yamesha Harris would be in charge of day-to-day operations due to the resignation of Parish Manager Moreau. Mr. Moreau is on approved vacation.

A motion was made by Vice President Chrissie O'Quin, seconded by Mr. Richard Oliveaux to advertise for a Parish Manager. Motion passed.

A motion was made by Mr. Chris Hall, seconded by Mr. Richard Oliveaux to approve task order with HGA to manage ARPA Funds. Motion passed.

A motion was made by Mr. Jason McCray, seconded by Mr. Michael Cheatham to approve Special Event Liquor License request from Sheilla Flowers/Heritage Riders on January 28, 2023 at 8596 Hwy 963, Ethel La. Motion passed. Vice President Chrissie O'Quin and Mr. Kyle Fleniken were not in favor of this motion.

A motion was made by Mr. Chris Hall, seconded by Mr. Richard Oliveaux to approve task order from HGA to manage ARPA Grant. Motion passed.

East Feliciana Parish Police Jury Clinton, LA Regular Meeting January 17, 2023 6:00 P.M.

A motion was made by Mr. Chris Hall, seconded by Mr. Ronald Johnson to adopt ordinance setting Police Jury Mileage Allowance at \$0.655 per mile, Police Jury Salary at \$1,600.00 per month and Police Jury President Salary at \$2,000.00 per month. Motion passed

AN ORDINANCE TO SET POLICE JUROR SALARY AT \$1,600.00 PER MONTH, POLICE JURY PRESIDENT SALARY AT \$2000.00 PER MONTH; SET MILEAGE ALLOWANCE AT \$0.655 PER MILE

Police jury compensation.

A. In accordance with the provisions of Louisiana Law and particularly La. R.S. 33:1233, as amended effective August 15, 2008, the compensation for members of the East Feliciana Parish Police Jury is hereby fixed at an amount permitted by Louisiana law, being the payment of a salary of \$1,600.00 per month for each member of the East Feliciana Parish Police Jury except the East Feliciana Parish Police Jury President. The East Feliciana Parish Police Jury President shall receive the payment of a salary of \$2,000.00 per month. Mileage compensation to and from the police juror's residence and the East Feliciana Parish Police Jury's meeting place to be set at the rate coinciding with the privately owned vehicle mileage reimbursement rates set by the United States General Services Administration at \$0.655 per mile.

No action taken on permission to use lot next to the Public Works Maintenance Yard to place horse trailers for Mardi Gras Parade.

A motion was made by Mr. Chris Hall, seconded by Mr. Kyle Fleniken to approve proposed Equipment Use Policy. Motion passed.

A motion was made by Mr. Chris Hall, seconded by Vice President Chrissie O'Quin to reappoint Dr. Rikki Permenter to the Capital Area Human Services Board of Directors. Motion passed.

A motion was made by Mr. Jason McCray, seconded by Mr. Chris Hall, to reappoint Genny Nadler Thomas to the Capital Area Human Services Board of Directors. Motion passed.

No report from Personnel Committee

A motion was made by Mr. Chris Hall, seconded by Mr. Kyle Fleniken to approve monthly invoices. Motion passed

Mr. Jason McCray informed the Jury that he would schedule a DPW Committee Meeting soon.

President Kent informed the Jury that he has removed himself from the Buildings & Properties Committee and added Mr. Kyle Fleniken

Administrative Comments were as follows:

• Informed Jury that LaKeisha Theriot the Sanitarian Regional Director would fill in as Parish Sanitarian until there is a permanent replacement for Brian Hurst

East Feliciana Parish Police Jury Clinton, LA Regular Meeting January 17, 2023 6:00 P.M.

- Drug & Alcohol Awareness Counsel has collaborated with Capital Area United Way to provide a space to conduct tax preparation for at no charge to residents of East Feliciana Parish on February 17 from 10-2, March 7 from 10-2 and March 25 from 10-2.
- Informed Jury of Invitation from Landmark Bank

Homeland Security Director Darryl Buhler gave an update on SHSP and EMPG Grants

Treasurer's Report

• Jurors were informed that a copy of the January Treasures Report is in their binders. Includes cash balances, profit and loss, check register and monthly invoices for each fund.

East Feliciana Parish Chamber of Commerce President Sonya Crowe provided the Jury with Chamber of Commerce updates

Public Comments were as follows:

- Ms. Shirley Anderson asked if road repair request are still scheduled through DPW.
- Mr. Marc Browning addressed the Jury with concerns of events at 8596 Hwy 963 and the process of approval

A motion was made by Mr. Ronald Johnson, seconded by Mr. Jason McCray to adjourn.

Yamesha Harris, Parish Secretary

Louis Kent, Police Jury President